The Queensland Council of Unions will target 17 key seats in the lead-up to the next state election to try to oust sitting government MPs.

Unions will target 17 key seats, including Premier Campbell Newman’s, in the lead up to the Queensland election to punish the Liberal National Party (LNP) government over its privatisation agenda.

The Queensland Council of Unions is employing “dedicated seat co-ordinators” to direct campaigning in the 17 seats centred on Cairns, Townsville, Brisbane and Logan.

The group believes it can swing enough voters to defeat sitting government MPs.

QCU President John Battams said the targeted campaign, which will cost “several hundred thousand dollars”, was borne out of the fact unions could not financially compete with the LNP’s campaigning on a wider scale.

But he insisted it was still an effective way to show voters were concerned about service cuts, job security and planned assets sales after the 2015 poll.

“We will be asking Queenslanders to put the LNP last which is exactly where Campbell Newman is putting them,” he said.

“We don’t have the funds for an expensive air war, but we will be listening on the ground and working with union members and communities across Queensland.”

Mr Battams said campaign tactics will include community meetings, information stalls at local events, workplace events, pledge signings, letterboxing and doorknocking.

WHICH SEATS ARE THE QCU TARGETING? (Seat, sitting MP, current margin)

* Ashgrove, Premier Campbell Newman, 5.7 per cent

* Mt Coot-tha, Saxon Rice, 5.4 per cent

* Brisbane Central, Robert Cavallucci, 4.9 per cent

* Everton, Housing Minister Tim Mander, 13.2 per cent

* Murrumba, Reg Gulley, 9.5 per cent

* Pine Rivers, Seath Holswich, 13.7 per cent

* Sunnybank, Mark Stewart, 10.2 per cent

* Algester, Anthony Shorten, 9.2 per cent

* Stretton, Freya Ostapovitch, 9.6 per cent

* Barron River, Michael Trout, 9.5 per cent

* Cook, David Kempton, 3.4 per cent

* Cairns, Gavin King, 8.9 per cent

* Albert, Mark Boothman, 11.9 per cent

* Springwood, John Grant, 15.2 per cent

* Mundingburra, Local Government Minister David Crisafulli, 10.2 per cent

* Thuringowa, Sax Cox, 1.4 per cent

* Townsville, John Hathaway, 4.8 per cent

(Source: Queensland Council of Unions)