The first round of the inaugural FFA Cup has been confirmed by the FFA ahead of next Tuesday’s first matches.

A trip across the Nullabor hasn’t shaken Melbourne Victory coach Kevin Muscat’s determination to be the first winners of the FFA Cup.

Football Federation Australia confirmed the round of 32 draw for the inaugural competition on Wednesday, which sees Victory take the long flight to Perth to play Bayswater City.

Ahead of the cup’s first games next Tuesday night, Muscat said he had eyes on the trophy.

“We are taking this competition seriously and are definitely focused on winning the Cup,” he said.

“To be the first club to hold the Cup would be something we would cherish and everyone at Melbourne Victory knows that our fans would be expecting us to be there come final time as well.

Bayswater City currently lead the National Premier League WA and Muscat said they would be a tough opponent.

“We can’t take this game lightly and I’ve got no doubt that all the players will step up when this competition begins,” he said.

After weeks of uncertainty surrounding the two WA-based fixtures, the WA Athletics Stadium has been confirmed as the host of two round of 32 matches.

Bayswater City will host Victory on 20 August, with local side Stirling Lions taking on A-League champions Brisbane Roar the previous evening.

The 16 matches in the first round will be shared across four weeks, with games played mid-week to avoid clashes with our competitions.

Matches will be played at regional grounds in every Australian state, including non A-League cities Hobart, Wollongong and Ballarat.

The Victorian goldfields city will host arguably the match of the round, when Melbourne City play Sydney FC on August 12.

As well as being Melbourne City’s first match with their new moniker, the club could hand new signing Damien Duff a debut.

The two clubs were involved in off-season animosity as City sought, and were denied, permission to play in sky blue home kits this season, Sydney’s shirt colour.

The other all-A-League matches are Newcastle Jets v Perth Glory and Adelaide United v Wellington Phoenix on August 5.

More than 600 football teams entered the FFA Cup through their state-based cups, which now double as qualifiers for the national competition.

Fox Sports will telecast a number of games from the competition, including the final on December 16, beginning with opening match Broadmeadow Magic v Brisbane Strikers on July 29.


Tue 29 Jul 2014

Broadmeadow Magic (NSW) v Brisbane Strikers (Qld) – Wanderers Oval, Broadmeadow

Manly United (NSW) v Sydney Olympic (NSW) – Cromer Park, Cromer

Olympic FC (Qld) v Melbourne Knights (Vic) – Goodwin Park, Yeronga

South Springvale (Vic) v South Cardiff FC (NSW) – Kingston Heath, Cheltenham

Tuesday 5 August

Newcastle Jets (NSW) v Perth Glory (WA) – Wanderers Oval, Broadmeadow

Parramatta FC (NSW) v St Albans Saints (Vic) – Melita Stadium, Sefton

South Hobart (Tas) v Tuggeranong United (ACT) – KGV Park, Hobart

Adelaide United (SA) v Wellington Phoenix (NZ) – Marden Sports Complex, Adelaide

Tuesday 12 August

Blacktown City (NSW) v Bentleigh Greens (Vic) – Lily Homes Stadium, Seven Hills

Melbourne City (Vic) v Sydney FC (NSW) – Morshead Park, Ballarat

Adelaide City (SA) v Western Sydney Wanderers (NSW) – Marden Sports Complex, Adelaide

Sydney United 58 FC (NSW) v FNQ Heat (Qld) – Sydney United Sports Centre, Edensor Park

Tuesday 19 August

Stirling Lions (WA) v Brisbane Roar (Qld) – Western Australia Athletics Stadium, Perth

Hakoah Sydney City (NSW) v Palm Beach Sharks (Qld) – Hensley Athletic Field, Pagewood

Wednesday 20 August

South Coast Wolves (NSW) v Central Coast Mariners (NSW) – WIN Stadium, Wollongong

Bayswater City (WA) v Melbourne Victory (Vic) – Western Australia Athletics Stadium, Perth