Test all-rounder hopefuls James Faulkner, Moises Henriques and Mitchell Marsh have been named in a 21-man preliminary Australia A squad.

Test star Ryan Harris has landed an assistant coaching role with the Australia A team for a six-week winter series starting in July.

Selectors on Tuesday named a preliminary 21-man squad featuring plenty of familiar faces ahead of matches against South Africa A, India A and Cricket Australia’s National Performance Squad in the Northern Territory and Queensland.

James Faulkner has been included in the mix, as have Sheffield Shield final hero Moises Henriques and Mitchell Marsh – all of whom are vying for a spot as Australia’s next Test all-rounder.

Selection panel chair John Inverarity said the door had been left open for changes to the line-up but hoped Faulkner, Henriques and Marsh would use the opportunity to stake their claims ahead of Australia’s Tests against Pakistan in the UAE in October and the South Africa and Zimbabwe tri-series in August.

Fast-bowler Harris will work alongside current Australian batting coach Michael Di Venuto, who has been appointed head coach for the series.

Australia A preliminary squad: Jason Behrendorff (WA), Cameron Boyce (QLD), Tom Cooper (SA), Pat Cummins (NSW), Ben Cutting (QLD), Alex Doolan (TAS), James Faulkner (TAS), Callum Ferguson (SA), Peter Forrest (QLD), Josh Hazlewood (NSW), Moises Henriques (NSW), Phillip Hughes (SA), Chris Lynn (QLD), Mitchell Marsh (WA), Peter Nevill (NSW), Steve O’Keefe (NSW), Kane Richardson (SA), Chadd Sayers (SA), Mitchell Starc (NSW), Cameron White (VIC), Sam Whiteman (WA).