Gold Coast’s record in turning around troubled careers has Titans coach John Cartwright confident they can do the same for NRL outcast James Roberts.

Gold Coast coach John Cartwright hopes the Titans’ track record in turning around the careers of troubled players will convince the NRL to allow them to sign James Roberts.

Cartwright confirmed the Titans’ interest in the former Penrith winger after naming an unchanged 18 for the round four clash with North Queensland next Monday.

Roberts, who had already been cut loose by South Sydney, was dumped by the Panthers after reportedly smashing a taxi window during an off-season incident.

Cartwright said the Titans had shown they know how to get a player back on track, with former problem players Greg Bird, Nate Myles and Albert Kelly among those enjoying life in southeast Queensland.

He said the Titans would love to have a talent like Roberts but it was up to the NRL’s integrity unit.

“We think we can help James out, on and off the field, but that’s a little bit out of our control at the moment,” Cartwright said.

“We’ve been a place where we’ve been able to get some results out of guys in similar positions. He’s got some things he’s got to deal with first but as far as his football goes he’s a rare talent.”

Cartwright says injured pair Aidan Sezer and William Zillman will be given every opportunity to prove their fitness for the Queensland derby against the Cowboys.

Sezer missed last week’s win over Canberra due to a quad injury while Zillman limped off in the victory over the Raiders with a hamstring strain.

“Just a little bit early in the week yet,” Cartwright said.

“We’re waiting on a scan on William. He’s worked around the clock on getting it right.

“We’ll name the same 18 and then, once we get our medical reports back, we’ll know later in the week.”

Titans: William Zillman, Kevin Gordon, Brad Tighe, Brad Takairangi, David Mead, Aidan Sezer, Albert Kelly, Luke Douglas, Beau Falloon, Nate Myles, Greg Bird, David Taylor, Ashley Harrison. Interchange (two to be omitted): Matthew White, Luke Bailey, Mark Minichiello, Paul Carter, Ryan James.