Skipper Ben Mowen will return to the Brumbies starting line-up alongside nine other Wallabies in their trial against the ACT XV this Saturday.

The Brumbies have named an imposing 10 Wallabies to start in their trial against local lads the ACT XV this Saturday, with head coach Stephen Larkham keen to test run his strongest possible side.

Skipper Ben Mowen returns to No.8 in an impressive backrow that includes Wallabies David Pocock and Scott Fardy.

The front row boasts similar experience, featuring Test stalwarts Ben Alexander and Stephen Moore, as well as dynamic young Wallabies loosehead Scott Sio.

The ACT XV clash at Canberra’s Viking Park will provide an opportunity for the Brumbies to build momentum ahead of their Super Rugby season opener with the Queensland Reds on February 22, after going down to the Highlanders 15-11 in a low-scoring trial in Queenstown last Friday.

“Compared to last week, we will now have our Wallabies back, that’s nine extra players in the starting team,” Larkham said on Thursday.

“We’re trying to get our best team on the paddock. This is pretty close to the team we’ll be starting with in two weeks.”

Matt Toomua will direct at flyhalf outside back-up Wallabies No.9 Nic White, while speedsters Henry Speight, Joe Tomane and Jesse Mogg will look to light up out wide.

“It’s been a while since we’ve been out there, so it’s just good fun to go and put your head in some dark places,” White said.

“We’ll blow out some cobwebs and try some things.”

Meanwhile Japan international Harumichi Tatekawa will swap with Speight between centre and wing after a solid display against the Highlanders.

Despite the side’s strength, three Wallabies will watch on from the sidelines, including Christian Lealiifano (ankle), Pat McCabe (head knock) and Tevita Kuridrani (suspended).

Workhorse lock Sam Carter is also sidelined due to a minor calf injury.

Larkham has named a 13-man bench, including backrow enforcer Fotu Auelua and former Test winger Clyde Rathbone.

Brumbies: Jesse Mogg, Joe Tomane, Henry Speight, Andrew Smith, Harumichi Tatekawa, Matt Toomua, Nic White, Ben Mowen (c), David Pocock, Scott Fardy, Jack Whetton, Leon Power, Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore, Scott Sio. Res: Ruan Smith, Siliva Siliva, Ruaidhri Murphy, Lachlan Murphy, Fotu Auelua, Jordan Smiler, Jarrad Butler, Michael Dowsett, Lionel Cronje, Rodney Iona, Clyde Rathbone, Stephan Van Der Walt, Robbie Coleman.