The ACT Meteors team have shocked the NSW Breakers to earn a berth in the final of the domestic women’s Twenty20 cricket competition.

An unheralded ACT Meteors team have pulled off one of the biggest upsets in domestic women’s cricket history to earn a national T20 final berth.

They toppled star-studded defending champions NSW Breakers in their semi-final on Wednesday, ending the hosts’ 25-match unbeaten run in T20 matches dating back to the 2011-12 season final.

Friday’s final against the Queensland Fire will be the first played without the Breakers in the T20 competition’s four years.

Fielding a team with many young NSW products who moved interstate to break into the national league, the Meteors won their semi-final by 12 runs at Blacktown International Sportspark.

One of those ex-NSW youth players, Rhiannon Dick, finished with outstanding figures of 6-14 off three overs as the visitors’ bowled the Breakers out in the final over for 134.

Earlier, ACT captain Kris Britt won the toss and two internationals, ex-NSW batter Rene Farrell (30 off 31) and New Zealand all-rounder Nicola Browne (45 off 37), helped the Meteors post a competitive 8-146 off their 20 overs.

A 56-run second-wicket stand between Alyssa Healy and Alex Blackwell (29 off 24) put the Breakers in the box seat before Blackwell fell to a sharp catch at mid-on by Browne with the score at 71.

Fellow internationals Ellyse Perry (12 off 12) and Healy (51 off 44) combined for a quick-fire 24-run third wicket stand but the momentum of the game changed quickly when allrounder Perry was run out by a direct hit from Sally Moylan with 95 runs on the board.

Rachael Haynes (1 off 2) and Healy both went with the score on 107 and, with the run rate required over eight an over, the remaining batters fell quickly chasing the runs.

The Queensland Fire trounced Victoria Spirit by eight wickets, reaching the target of 116 in 15.3 overs with Beth Mooney unbeaten on 46.