Brisbane’s best were on show to celebrate with the Lord Mayor the talent that abounds in Brisbane.

Professor Adele Green, head of cancer and population studies at the Queensland Institute of Medical Research, became the first female winner of the bmag Brisbane Person of the Year award for her work as a researcher, mentor and significant contributor to public health.

Professor Green is the fifth person to win the award, following in the footsteps of Darren Lockyer, Danny Armstrong, Dean Merlo and Philip Bacon. Green beat out a field of deserving Brisbanites including Dr Daniel Timms, Brad Webb, Rosario La Spina, Mike O’Hagan, Kate Miller-Heidke, Dr Peter Stewart, John Curro, Russell White, Natalie Weir, Michael Tuahine and Shelley Argent.

For more information about the awards, click here.