Lord Mayor Graham Quirk has shuffled his Civic Cabinet, and made the development of the Brisbane Metro subway a priority.

The subway will come under the purview of Cr Adrian Schrinner, who was re-elected as Deputy Mayor yesterday, and will have special responsibility for the development of the Brisbane Metro as part of his expanded Public and Active Transport portfolio.

“During the election campaign I made a commitment to building the Brisbane Metro subway system to cope with the demands on our public transport system and freeing up more buses for the suburbs and I look forward to making this a reality over coming years,” Cr Quirk said.

“The Brisbane Metro is the biggest project that will get underway during this term and I’m handing responsibility for its development to Deputy Mayor Adrian Schrinner.

“I want to recommit Council to addressing the important matters for our city – tackling traffic congestion, even better public transport and enhancing our lifestyle and leisure opportunities.

“My team will continue Council’s good work to ease traffic congestion by completing 90 new road projects across Brisbane over the coming four years, including the much needed Kingsford Smith Drive upgrade.

“I am committed to making our New World City the very best it can be and I look forward to working with all Brisbane residents to deliver on that vision.”

While the Civic Cabinet team remains the same as the previous term, each member of the team will have different portfolio responsibilities.

Cr Krista Adams will serve as Chairman of the Finance and Economic Development Committee.

Cr Matthew Bourke will serve as Chairman of the Lifestyle and Community Services Committee.

Cr Amanda Cooper will serve as Chairman of the Infrastructure Committee.

Cr Peter Matic will serve as Chairman of the Field Services Committee.

Cr David McLachlan will serve as Chairman of the Environment, Parks and Sustainability Committee.

Cr Julian Simmonds will serve as Chairman of the City Planning Committee.

Finally, Cr Angela Owen will serve as Chairman of Council.

The Civic Cabinet and Councillors will be officially sworn in next Tuesday 12 April at City Hall.