Tasmania is celebrating its first-ever men’s national hockey league title after beating WA in a penalty shootout in the final.

Kookaburras star Eddie Ockenden has led Tasmania to their first-ever men’s national hockey league title in a dramatic penalty shootout victory over Western Australia.

Two goals down just six minutes into Saturday’s final in Adelaide, the Tigers hit back with two goals in three minutes at the start of the final quarter, forcing a shoot-out.

With national team goalkeepers Tyler Lovell (WA) and Tristan Clemons (Tas) defending the goals, the first shoot-out efforts all failed before Jeremy Edwards struck for Tasmania.

Nathan McGuire and Chris Bausor were then successful for WA but Tasmanian captain Ockenden then sent the contest to sudden death.

Ockenden struck again immediately in the knock-out before Tasmania’s WA-import goalkeeper Clemons secured the gold medal by sweeping away McGuire’s effort moments later.

Ockenden was named player of the tournament for the second year running, and the third time overall.

Victoria took the bronze medal with in another thrilling shoot-out victory, beating the Queensland Blades 4-2 following a 4-4 draw.

In the national women’s league, the NSW arrows also stormed back from two goals down as they toppled the defending champion Queensland Scorchers 3-2 in their final in Brisbane.

Hockeyroos Jordyn Holzberger and Jodie Kenny had put the hosts in the driving seat.

But Emily Smith halved the deficit before levelling the score two minutes later and just a minute into the final period Mariah Williams scored the winner for the Arrows.

Kenny took the tournament’s top scorer award with nine goals in the competition,five ahead of her nearest challenger, while NSW Arrows captain Casey Eastham was named player of the tournament and player of the final.

Earlier, the Victorian Vipers claimed the bronze medal eith a 3-0 win over WA Diamonds.