Shaun Tait will be one of the star attractions when the express paceman turns out for South Australia in the upcoming domestic cricket one-day tournament.

Shaun Tait retired from one-day cricket in 2011, but the slinging speedster is back to spearhead South Australia’s pace attack.

Tait will be one of the star attractions when the condensed domestic 50-over tournament, which runs for 22 days, starts on Saturday in Brisbane.

South Australia face NSW at Allan Border Field, where Tait will almost certainly play his first one-day match in three-and-a-half years.

“Taity isn’t a contracted player, but we have been blown away with his commitment,” Redbacks coach Darren Berry said of Tait’s approach to pre-season training.

“I told him ‘mate, you come along when you want to come along because you aren’t contracted’.

“But he hasn’t missed a session. He has been a role model for our players and is bowling very fast, so I am delighted to have him back involved.”

Tait has been a Twenty20 gun for hire since the 2011 World Cup.

South Australia’s 14-man squad for the clash with NSW also included uncapped batsman Jake Lehmann, the son of national coach Darren.

Victoria, who face Queensland at the Gabba on Saturday, also named their 15-man squad for the series.

Ryan Sidebottom, brother of Collingwood midfielder Steele, and Jake Haberfield are in line to make their domestic limited-overs debut.

Former NSW paceman Chris Tremain is also set to play his first game with the Bushrangers.

Veteran batsman Michael Klinger, in some doubt for the tournament after breaking his arm while playing for English county side Gloucestershire, has been included in Western Australia’s squad.

One-day squads:

SA: Johan Botha (capt), Mark Cosgrove, Tom Cooper, Callum Ferguson, Travis Head, Trent Lawford, Jake Lehmann, Tim Ludeman, Gary Putland, Alex Ross, Chadd Sayers, Shaun Tait, Nick Winter, Adam Zampa

NSW: Moises Henriques (capt), Ryan Carters, Trent Copeland, Chris Green, Josh Hazlewood, Scott Henry, Josh Lalor, Nic Maddinson, Peter Nevill, Kurtis Patterson, Ben Rohrer, Gurinder Sandhu

Victoria: Matthew Wade (capt), Fawad Ahmed, Scott Boland, Dan Christian, Jake Haberfield, Peter Handscomb, Jon Holland, David Hussey, Alex Keath, Clint McKay, Rob Quiney, Ryan Sidebottom, Marcus Stoinis, Chris Tremain, Cameron White

WA: Adam Voges (capt), Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Michael Beer, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Marcus Harris, Michael Klinger, Simon Mackin, Joel Paris, Nathan Rimmington, Craig Simmons, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman

Tasmania: TBC

Queensland: TBC.

AAP rf/sz