The Adelaide Thunderbirds have been given an extension to name their team for the 2015 netball season, as Carla Borrego seeks Australian citizenship.

A citizenship application and a deadline could decide the future of veteran goalshooter Carla Borrego, who is facing the axe from trans-Tasman league side Adelaide Thunderbirds.

Stung by their record-low eighth place finish last season, the Thunderbirds have signed England defender Eboni Beckford-Chambers as their import for next season.

That leaves Jamaican national Borrego hoping to have an application for Australian citizenship approved in time for her to play as a local – but time is fast running out.

Clubs had to nominate their sides by last Friday, but ANZ Championship general manager Andy Crook said two-time champions Adelaide Thunderbirds were granted an extra two weeks to finalise their roster because of “extenuating circumstances”.

Thunderbirds CEO Ben Scales said they hoped to reach a verdict on the 12th player prior to the September 5 deadline.

“We were having discussions with an individual player, and at the last minute it was mutually agreed that we wouldn’t progress those discussions at this stage,” Scales said.

The Thunderbirds have already confirmed the signing of Beckford-Chambers, 2014 premiership-winner Amy Steel (Melbourne Vixens), and Nicola Gray (Queensland Firebirds).

This comes at the loss of Australian international Rebecca Bulley to the Firebirds.

Borrego, who played for Jamaica at the 2003 world championships, was instrumental in Adelaide’s 2010 and 2013 premiership victories.

However her performance slipped last season when she ranked 11th in the trans-Tasman competition for shooting.

The club finished with a 5-8 win-loss rate, equalling their worst season victory tally since the competition began in 2008.



In: Eboni Beckford-Chambers (Fever), Nicola Gray (Firebirds), Amy Steel (Vixens).

Out: Rebecca Bulley (Firebirds), Andrea Gilmore, Laura Packard.

Squad: Emily Beaton, Eboni Beckford-Chambers, Erin Bell, Nicola Gray, Renae Hallinan, Cody Lange, Samantha Poolman, Madeleine Proud, Kate Shimmin, Amy Steel, Leigh Waddington, TBC* *Final player to be nominated by September 5.


In: Carla Dziwoki (Swifts), Emily Mannix, Alice Teague-Neeld, Chloe Watson.

Out: Catherine Cox (retired), Erin Hoare (Swifts), Amy Steel (Thunderbirds), Caitlin Strachan (Firebirds).

Squad: Karyn Bailey, Tegan Caldwell, Bianca Chatfield, Carla Dziwoki, Emily Mannix, Geva Mentor, Kate Moloney, Madison Robinson, Alice Teague-Neeld, Chloe Watson, Liz Watson, Joanna Weston.


In: Jade Clarke (Tactix), Julie Corletto (Mystics), Taylah Davies, Erin Hoare (Vixens), Micaela Wilson, Stephanie Wood.

Out: Carla Dziwoki (Vixens), Madeline Hay, April Letton (Fever), Brooke Miller, Sonia Mkoloma, Gretel Tippett (Firebirds).

Squad: Jade Clarke, Julie Corletto, Taylah Davies, Kimberlee Green, Paige Hadley, Erin Hoare, Sharni Layton, Abbey McCulloch, Susan Pratley, Caitlin Thwaites, Micaela Wilson, Stephanie Wood.


In: Rebecca Bulley (Thunderbirds), Beryl Friday, Caitlin Strachan (Vixens), Gretel Tippett (Swifts).

Out: Demelza Fellowes (Tactix), Nicola Gray (Thunderbirds), Stephanie Puopolo, Ameliaranne Wells (Pulse)

Squad: Romelda Aiken, Rebecca Bulley, Beryl Friday, Laura Geitz, Clare McMeniman, Jacinta Messer, Kim Ravaillion, Verity Simmons, Gabi Simpson, Caitlyn Strachan, Gretel Tippett, Amorette Wild.


In: Ingrid Colyer, April Letton (Swifts), Erena Mikaere (Steel)

Out: Eboni Beckford-Chambers (Thunderbirds), Chanel Gomes, Chelsea Pitman.

Squad: Caitlin Bassett, Kate Beveridge, Shae Bolton, Ashleigh Brazill, Courtney Bruce, Ingrid Colyer, Josephine Janz, April Letton, Natalie Medhurst, Erena Mikaere, Kaylia Stanton, Khao Watts


In: Elsa Brown, Katherine Coffin (Magic), Paula Griffin (Pulse), Serena Guthrie, Camilla Lees (Pulse), Sulu Tone-Fitzpatrick.

Out: Julie Corletto (Swifts), Anna Harrison, Bailey Mes (Tactix), Erikana Pedersen (Tactix), Jodi Tod-Elliott, Elisapeta Toeava.

Squad: Elsa Brown, Katherine Coffin, Kayla Cullen, Temalisi Fakahokotau, Paula Griffin, Serena Guthrie, Laura Langman, Cathrine Latu, Camilla Lees, Nadia Loveday, Sulu Tone-Fitzpatrick, Maria Tutaia.


In: Katarina Cooper (Pulse), Sophia Fenwick (Tactix), Brooke Leaver (Magic), Jane Watson (Tactix).

Out: Jodi Brown (Pulse), Phillipa Finch, Erena Mikaere (Fever), Rachel Rasmussen.

Squad: Gina Crampton, Katarina Cooper, Sophia Fenwick, Jhaniele Fowler-Reid, Shannon Francois, Wendy Frew, Phoenix Karaka, Brooke Leaver, Stacey Peeters, Storm Purvis, Te Paea Selby-Rickit, Jane Watson.


In: Demelza Fellowes (Firebirds), Gemma Hazeldine (Pulse), Bailey Mes (Mystics), Erikana Pedersen (Mystics).

Out: Jade Clarke (Swifts), Sophia Fenwick (Steel), Julianna Naoupu, Jane Watson (Steel).

Squad: Demelza Fellowes, Keshia Grant, Gemma Hazeldine, Mwai Kumwenda, Nicola Mackle, Bailey Mes, Jess Moulds, Erikana Pedersen, Hayley Saunders, Louise Thayer, Anna Thompson, Zoe Walker.


In: Kelly Jury

Out: Katherine Coffin (Mystics), Brooke Leaver (Steel)

Squad: Leana de Bruin, Ellen Halpenny, Jo Harten, Kelly Jury, Casey Kopua, Bessie Manu, Malia Paseka, Jamie-Lee Price, Grace Rasmussen, Samantha Sinclair, Courtney Tairi, Jo Trip.


In: Jess Bourke, Jodi Brown (Steel), Hannah Poff, Whitney Souness, Ameliaranne Wells (Firebirds)

Out: Katarina Cooper (Steel), Paula Griffin (Mystics), Gemma Hazeldine (Tactix), Claire Kersten, Camilla Lees (Mystics), Donna Wilkins

Squad: Ama Agbeze, Jess Bourke, Jodi Brown, Katrina Grant, Joline Henry, Liana Leota, Hannah Poff, Te Huinga Reo Selby-Rickit, Elias Shadrock, Whitney Souness, Irene van Dyk, Ameliaranne Wells.