Triple AFL premiership captain Michael Voss has joined Fitzroy greats Kevin Murray and Haydn Bunton as an official ‘Lions Legend’.

Axed Brisbane Lions coach and three-time premiership captain Michael Voss has been elevated to Legend status by the AFL club.

Voss has joined Fitzroy greats Kevin Murray and Haydn Bunton as only the third official ‘Lions Legend’ after a hall of fame dinner on Wednesday night.

Ten new players – including four of Voss’s former teammates – were added to the Lions hall of fame at the dinner in Brisbane.

Murray and Bunton were named as the first two club legends in the inaugural hall of fame event in 2012.

Voss, who led the Lions to the 2001-03 premierships, enjoyed a stellar career, making his debut at 17 for the Brisbane Bears before playing for 15 seasons.

The tough on-baller played 289 senior matches, shared the 1996 Brownlow Medal with James Hird, took out five best and fairest awards, was a five-time All-Australian and spent a decade as captain.

His five seasons as coach ended controversially with three rounds to play last year.

Voss’s premiership teammates Chris Johnson, Darryl White, Chris Scott, and Shaun Hart were named among the Hall of Fame class of 2014, while overseas commitments prevented Jason Akermanis to also take his place.

The quartet were joined by three-time Fitzroy Best & Fairest Norm Brown, former Bears skipper Roger Merrett, and early Fitzroy greats George Holden, Bill Walker, Harold ‘Lal’ McLennan, and Len Wigraft.

The Lions pardoned Akermanis from selection due to overseas commitments and indicated he would be a likely inductee at the next hall of fame event in Melbourne in 2016.