Foreign Minister Julie Bishop has announced Australia will impose targeted financial sanctions and travel bans against a dozen Russians and Ukrainians.

Australia will impose financial sanctions and travel bans against a dozen Russian and Ukrainian individuals who have been instrumental in Russia’s moves to annex Crimea.

Foreign Minister Julie Bishop condemned Russian President Vladimir Putin’s move and said the referendum in Crimea could not form any legitimate basis to separate it from the rest of Ukraine.

Ms Bishop said the sanctions and travel bans would target 12 people who had been instrumental in the Russian threat to Ukraine’s sovereignty. She did not name them.

“International law does not allow one state to steal the territory of another on the basis of a referendum that cannot be considered free or fair,” she told parliament on Wednesday.

“I condemn in the strongest possible terms the use of violence against Ukraine and its citizens.

“Australia has taken these actions in solidarity and support for a rules-based international order.”

Australia’s measures are in line with those taken by the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, the European Union and some other countries.

Ms Bishop spoke overnight about the situation with English foreign secretary William Hague and also Ukraine’s interim foreign minister.