Surf Life Saving Queensland gathered at the annual Awards of Excellence Gala on Saturday 16 August to celebrate the fantastic achievements of its members throughout the 2013/14 season.

The awards seek to recognise exceptional commitment to lifesaving, surf sports and youth development, as well as members of the community who have worked with surf life saving to improve beach safety and awareness.

The most prestigious awards — the Clive Hammond OAM Gold Medal, Surf Lifesaver of the Year and Lifeguard of the Year — were taken out by Rob Campbell, Daniel Capps and Timothy Wilson, respectively. Rob Campbell also took home the Volunteer of the Year gong.

SLSQ Chief Executive Officer John Brennan commended all recipients on their involvement across all areas of the movement.

“This is the one time of the year when we all come together and celebrate the fantastic work we [SLSQ] have achieved over the past 12 months,” Mr Brennan said.

“We appreciate every member’s involvement but the award winners tonight have gone above and beyond to keep Queensland beaches safe.”