Brisbane singer-songwriter Hannah Macklin has won the prestigious $25,000 Grant McLennan Fellowship for 2016.

Macklin, the frontwoman and primary songwriter of local three-piece MKO Sun, was up against stiff competition in the form of Leanne Tennant, Jeremy Neale and Bec Laughton.

Macklin wowed judges Sally McLennan, Adele Pickvance (The Go-Betweens), Ian Haug (Powderfinger, The Church) and music journalist Sean Sennett with her talent and potential, and will now travel to New York to write songs for her next release.

“There is a sense of adventure to Hannah’s songwriting, and the concept of her being immersed in New York City to fully focus on writing a new collection of songs is exciting,” the judges said in a collective statement.

“We have no doubt that the combination of Hannah’s unique sense of artistry and the filter that is New York will create something remarkable.”

Ms Jennifer Howard, Assistant Minister of State Assisting the Premier, made the announcement at a ceremony at The Triffid in Newstead on behalf of Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk.

“It has been a decade since the Queensland Government established the Grant McLennan Fellowship to help develop today’s generation of Queensland contemporary music talent,” the Premier said in a statement.

“The Grant McLennan Fellowship has gone far in helping Queensland songwriters make new connections and develop skills in an international market and I wish Hannah every success in New York.”

The Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS and administered by QMusic, is open to Queensland contemporary musicians.