Mansfield rockers Violent Soho headlined the winners at last night’s Queensland Music Awards, taking home Song of the Year and the Rock Award for Like Soda.

The ceremony, held at Brisbane Powerhouse in New Farm and hosted by triple j’s Gen Fricker, honoured Queensland’s best and most innovative songwriters and musos.

Brisbane four-piece Blank Realm collected the Album of the Year award for their Illegals In Heaven LP.

Rising star Luke Daniel Peacock took out the Indigenous category, as well as the much-coveted $10,000 Billy Thorpe Scholarship.

This year’s recipient of the Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award was recently retired music journalist Noel Mengel, who was honoured for creating a greater public understanding and awareness of the Queensland music industry for many decades.

Local acts were also recognised for their commercial success, including globetrotters Sheppard, who won the Export Achievement Award; Jarryd James, whose Do You Remember was the Highest Selling Single by a Queenslander in 2015, and The Veronicas, whose self-titled album took out the Highest Selling Album category.

For those keeping score at home, here’s the full list of winners:

Album of the Year Award Illegals In Heaven — Blank Realm
Song of the Year AwardLike Soda — Violent Soho
Billy Thorpe Scholarship Award — Luke Daniel Peacock
Grant McLennan Lifetime Achievement Award — Noel Mengel
PopGolden Fleece — Amy Shark
RockLike Soda — Violent Soho
Electronic / Dance — Tenderness — Standby Empire
Blues / RootsImpolite — Bearfoot
HeavyMarigold — Caligula’s Horse
JazzHope in My Pocket — Berardi/Foran/Karlen
SchoolsPristine — Doolie
IndigenousFruits of Our Labour — Luke Daniel Peacock
UrbanMove Actively — Astro Travellers
CountrySpinning Wheels — Dana Hassall
World Nightwatch — MZAZA
Folk Singer / SongwriterMother Mother — Sahara Beck
Children’s MusicKangaroo Dance A Roo — Carolyn Simpson/ The Kangagang
RegionalWaiting — Ayla
Music VideoTV — Eves The Behavior
Export Achievement Award — Sheppard
BOQ People’s Choice Most Promising Female Songwriter — Deena
BOQ People’s Choice Most Promising Male Songwriter — Joe Aguis (The Creases)
BOQ People’s Choice Most Promising Songwriting Team — Avaberee

You might also like…
Violent Soho are still hungry