The worldwide smash hit musical We Will Rock You has returned to Australia!

Since 2002, over 16 million theatregoers in 28 countries have been thrilled by this awe-inspiring production which is based on the songs of Queen with a book by Ben Elton (The Young Ones, Blackadder, Popcorn).

Elton fashioned this hilarious futurist comedy around more than 24 of Queen’s biggest hit songs, including We Are The Champions, Radio Ga Ga, I Want To Break Free, Somebody To Love, Killer Queen, Don’t Stop Me Now, Under Pressure, Bohemian Rhapsody, Another One Bites The Dust, and of course, We Will Rock You.

We Will Rock You reflects the scale and spectacle that marked Queen’s live performances and earned the band its pinnacle position in rock history. With Queen’s Brian May and Roger Taylor as music supervisors, and “a band without parallel in the theatre” in the cast, audiences can expect We Will Rock You to rock as fiercely as the best of Queen’s concerts.

Ben Elton claims he has assembled a powerhouse cast of Australian talent for the production. “Australian musical theatre is famous worldwide for the excellence of the artists it produces,” he says.

We Will Rock You has featured Australians in productions as far apart as Toronto, London and Berlin. Check a musical cast list on Broadway or in the West End and the chances are you’ll spot an Aussie. Brian, Roger and I know that the new all-Australian cast is second to none.”

We Will Rock You stars Gareth Keegan (Jersey Boys, Next to Normal, Hugh Jackman: Broadway to Oz) as Galileo, Erin Clare (Heathers, The Phantom of the Opera) as Scaramouche, Thern Reynolds (Rock of Ages, South Pacific) as Brit, Jazz Flowers (Hairspray, Hot Shoe Shuffle, Fame) as Oz, and Simon Russell (ABC TV’s Jack Irish, Neighbours) as Khashoggi.

Brian Mannix, formerly the lead singer of ’80s band Uncanny X-Men, will return to the musical stage as Buddy, and Killer Queen will be played by the extraordinary Casey Donovan (The Sapphires, Rent).

Also in the cast are Justin Anderson, Sheridan Anderson, Erinn Arnel, Michelle Barr, Hugh Barrington, Kyla Bartholomeusz, Sarah Clarke, Keane Fletcher, Scott McConnell, Suzie Melloy, Ruvarashe Ngwenya, Morgan Palmer, Joshua Russell, Ryan Sheppart, Leigh Sleightholme, Ashlee Smith, Thalia Smith, Mike Snell, Kate Thomas, Karla Tonkich and Paul Watson.

The original Australian tour of We Will Rock You opened at Melbourne’s Regent Theatre in 2003 with a record advance, and Brian May and Roger Taylor in attendance. Australia was the first country outside the UK to produce a local version of the mega-hit musical, and the production dominated the 2004 Helpmann Awards, receiving five Helpmann Awards.

The 2016-17 Australian tour of We Will Rock You is produced by John Frost, in association with Queen Theatrical Productions, Phil McIntyre Entertainment and Tribeca Theatrical Productions.

We Will Rock You plays at QPAC’s Lyric Theatre from Sunday 10 July. Tickets are available now at

We’ve got six double passes (valued at $279.80 per double pass) to give away to the 7:30pm performance of We Will Rock You at QPAC’s Lyric Theatre on Wednesday 13 July! Enter now for your chance to win!

HOW TO ENTER: Enter via the form below. *Entrants agree to receive future promotional offers from Bmag. This prize is not redeemable for cash. Competition closes 9am, Monday 4 July. UPDATE: This competition has closed. Winners are Colin Jones, Denise Turner, Charlotte Hambly, Pete Jenner, Kevin Loo, Chris Thomas.