Win a double pass to see The Witch, the terrifying new horror film that explores the age-old concepts of witchcraft, black magic and possession!

New England, 1630. Upon threat of banishment by the church, an English farmer leaves his colonial plantation, relocating his wife and five children to a remote plot of land on the edge of an ominous forest — within which lurks an unknown evil.

Strange and unsettling things begin to happen almost immediately — animals turn malevolent, crops fail, and one child disappears as another becomes seemingly possessed by an evil spirit.

With suspicion and paranoia mounting, family members accuse teenage daughter Thomasin of witchcraft, charges she adamantly denies. As circumstances grow more treacherous, each family member’s faith, loyalty and love become tested in shocking and unforgettable ways.

Writer/director Robert Eggers’ debut feature, which premiered to great acclaim at the 2015 Sundance Film Festival — winning the Best Director Prize in the U.S. Narrative Competition — painstakingly recreates a God-fearing New England decades before the 1692 Salem witch trials, in which religious convictions tragically turned to mass hysteria.

The Witch

Told through the eyes of the adolescent Thomasin — in a star-making turn by newcomer Anya Taylor-Joy — and supported by mesmerizing camera work and a powerful musical score, The Witch is a chilling and groundbreaking new take on the genre.

The Witch is in cinemas Thursday 17 March. In Brisbane, the film will be showing exclusively at Dendy Portside! Thanks to Universal Pictures, we’ve got 20 in-season double passes to give away!

HOW TO ENTER: Enter via the form below. *Entrants agree to receive future promotional offers from Bmag. This prize is not redeemable for cash. Competition closes 9am, Monday 14 March. UPDATE: This competition has closed. Winners are: Maxine Parfitt from Yaroomba, Yolanda Hollows from Noosaville, Julie Durkin from Mudjimba, Jen Furnell from Upper Coomera, Nathan McAulay from Murrumba Downs, Craig Robertson from Springfield Lakes, Rodrigo Pineda from Gold Coast, Kaye Harris from Manly West, Michael Switzer from Carina Heights, Lesley Johnston from Holland Park, B.A McLennan from Brisbane, Natalie Dillon from Runcorn, Justine Evans from Brisbane, Carin Proud from Newmarket, Victor Cheung from Boondall Heights, Majella Walker from Aspley, Rebecca Miller from Kedron, Ander Selby from Lutwyche, Anthony Owens from Bracken Ridge, Keegan Beauchamp from Brisbane.