After giving the farmers a well-earned 3 week break, the Jan Powers Farmers Markets are back from the 16th of January. Visit the markets at The Powerhouse or Manly for fresh local produce, unique artisan works and a relaxed day out. The much-loved city markets will also return on the 3rd of February and the Mitchelton markets will be back from the 7th.

These iconic markets have been running for almost 30 years, sparked by Jan’s vision to support local producers while educating Brisbane on the quality of their food. Last year, her markets were visited by over 775,000 people, starting a local food revolution. If statistics like that don’t give you a serious case of FOMO, nothing will. Maybe this Saturday will be the day you see what all the fuss is about!

The markets will continue weekly throughout 2016, so you can count on them to provide fresh local produce all year. This year there is also an exciting new service launching, a refrigerated pick-up service for city shoppers.

Below are the market dates for Summer 2016.

  • Saturday 16 January – Brisbane Powerhouse & Manly
  • Saturday 23 January – Brisbane Powerhouse (get your Australia Day essentials)
  • Saturday 30 January – Brisbane Powerhouse
  • Wednesday 3 February – City: Queen Street (bridge end)
  • Sunday 7 February – Mitchelton
  • Wednesday 10 February – City: Queen Street (bridge end)
  • Saturday 13 February – Brisbane Powerhouse
  • Wednesday 17 February – City: Queen Street (bridge end)
  • Saturday 20 February – Brisbane Powerhouse & Manly
  • Wednesday 24 February – City: Queen Street (bridge end)
  • Saturday 27 February – Brisbane Powerhouse
  • Wednesday 24 February – City: Queen Street (bridge end)